Sleeping in Airports

Schengen Area

schengen area
Schengen Area – as of January 2021. Map created using

What is the Shengen Area?

The Shengen Area consists of 26 European countries that permit free and unrestricted movement of people. The area mostly functions as a single jurisdiction for international travel purposes, with a common visa policy. The area includes most EU countries (but not all!) and non-member countries such as: Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein.

Schengen Area Countries

The 26 countries included in the Schengen Area are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

There are five more EU members that have not joined the Schengen zone: Ireland, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, and Cyprus.

What does Schengen Zone mean in the airport?

Just as some airports will have Domestic and International areas within their terminals, European airports will have Schengen and non-Schengen areas.

  • If you are in a Schengen airport and will be flying to another Schengen airport, you will use the Schengen Area.
  • If you are in a Schengen airport and will be flying to a non-Schengen airport, you will use the non-Schengen Area.